Possible Airing cupboard heater

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi ALL

I'm thinking of adding a towel rail / radiator into an airing cupboard which has recently lost its hot water tank, due to an old semi gravity central heating system being updated with a new combi boiler ( now located elsewhere ). I've tried to show in the picture below what my thoughts / plan would be . The 230v supply would be taken from the old immersion heater socket . I'm not an electrician so I'm looking for some advice please :-

Firstly can anybody see anything wrong or dangerous with this setup ? will it work ?

Secondly Am I correct in thinking that the heating element ( 800 watts - 3.5 amps ) in the electric towel rail / radiator is classed as a " RESISTIVE LOAD " and would be within the 5amp limit of the digital room stat ? or will the wattage need to be adjusted down to bring it under the 3 amp inductive limit .

Thirdly is it ok to use stranded 1mm2 flex cable ? or should this be solid core 1.5mm2 twin and earth cable ? ( not sure if I've read somewhere room stat terminals are designed for single core wires ? if this is the case could I just crimp a ferrule on the stranded flex cable ? )

Any advice or thoughts would be much appreciated
Thanks in advance
mark

AIRING CUPBOARD.jpg

Sponsored Links
I'm thinking of adding a towel rail / radiator into an airing cupboard which has recently lost its hot water tank, due to an old semi gravity central heating system being updated with a new combi boiler ( now located elsewhere ). I've tried to show in the picture below what my thoughts / plan would be . The 230v supply would be taken from the old immersion heater socket . I'm not an electrician so I'm looking for some advice please :-
Fair enough. I've done every similar.
Firstly can anybody see anything wrong or dangerous with this setup ? will it work ?
Not anything that looks wrong or dangerous to me.