Heating an airing cupboard

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'd like to put a heater in our airing cupboard and would appreciate hearing your thoughts. It's just a small cupboard on the landing that probably used to hold the boiler (the house had a combi boiler in the kitchen when we bought it). The cupboard is approx 60cm by 80cm by 160cm.

I plan to run a fused spur off the ring main and use a 500w convector heater from Dimplex (recommended for airing cupboards).
- Would 3 core 2.5 mm cable be okay?
- Does it matter if you use flexible or non-flexible cable?
- Is a 3 amp fuse enough? (500w = 2.17 amp)
- There's a junction box in the loft for the four bathroom spot lights and extractor fan. The airing cupboard is outside the bathroom so the junction box is in a good location. How can I tell if it's okay to take a spur from that junction box? If it's not okay, how can I be sure whether wires are part of the ring main or part of a spur? I'm new to the house and it's the first time I've looked at the electrics, I haven't got it mapped out in my head.
- will an electrician need to sign off the work?
- is there anything else I need to think about?

Thanks! I'm new to electrics but you've got to start somewhere. I just want to make sure I understand it properly before I attempt anything.

Sponsored Links
My father insisted in having a radiator fitted in the old airing cupboard when the cistern was removed. It was a total waste of money cupboard now used to store tools. Nothing wrong with the idea but if does need some thought. Air flow is important and unless you have vents it would just be a very humid cupboard.