Possible issue with old extension

What possible reason would I have to scaremonger? Ridiculous comment. I'm experienced in neighbourly disputes and this sort of thing is NOT uncommon. I did not say that a claim is likely to arise (how could I be sure without seeing the site?!), I merely offered a few points for consideration. Best to be in the know, than not.

Sponsored Links
I'm a surveyor for a large multi disciplinary firm, working mainly in party wall matters, boundary disputes, rights of light claims for a mixture of public, private and commercial clients on household developments to large scale city centre developments in Liverpool, Leeds, Manchester, Preston, London to name a few.

Lol . No adverts allowed.

I've got more experience than that. I don't get on with the neighbours.

Sponsored Links
A few things to consider:

1. Building Regulations
At the time the extension was built, it would've been subject to Building Regulations (if it was deemed habitable, and met other criteria... this may be something you should check).

2. Planning matters
References to the 4-year rule are correct. If I was the buyer/seller of the neighbouring property, I would keep quiet about the planning concerns and get the sale through. It may very well be the case that due to the size of the extension, planning was not required.

3. Rights to Light
Contrary to most replies so far, the estate agent is not talking rubbish. If the extension is causing sufficient 'injury' to the neighbouring property, under the Prescriptions Act 1832, then the neighbour could be due some compensation. The statute of limitations allows the neighbour to make a claim up to 6 years (perhaps 12?!) after the nuisance commenced.