Potterton MF boiler

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
This was installed some 7 years ago and works well. However British Gas have now said that its "At Risk" because there is inadequate ventilation. What exactly are the ventilation requirements. The boiler is installed in a hall cupboard which is at the top of a cellar which has a number of outside air-holes. There is then ventilation from this cupboard through to a conservatory.

Sponsored Links
Depending upon which potterton MF it is, it will require correct ventilation. If is an open flued model then it requires the ventilation for it safe operation.

If BG have left an AR notice then that would suggest it is an Open Flued model.

Open Flued Potterton MF's do not follow the general calculation for compartment and room ventilation but the manufacturers instruction clearly state the requirement with diagrams.

I am a BG engineer and try my level best to explain things fully to the customer. Both the requirement and possible options to ensure compliance. If you feel that BG have not explained things fully then ask them to return to explain.

They will also offer to quote to put things right, but you may need deep pockets for this.

If you want to query what there suggestions are then you can check back here.

Good Luck

Simon

Sponsored Links
The users guide says that "This floor mounted fan assisted gas boiler is available as conventional or balanced flue"
How do I find out which one I have?
unfortunately the range of different BG engineers all of who have different opinions does not give me a high level of confidence, hence my inquiries

A balanced flue will exit through the wall directly behind or to the side of the boiler and terminate on the wall outside, ventilation, though required if the boiler is in a compartment is not a reason to issue an At Risk notice about ventilation.