Power for Washing Machine and Dryer

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello

Wondering if anyone can advise here. I am moving a washing machine and tumble dryer to the other side of the kitchen and need some advice on what kind of power outlets I need to make available.
At the moment they're plugged into a 4 gang extension socket (not used at same time) so not ideal and want to do this the right way. I've opened up ring main before and installed extra sockets then obtained signoff etc so not complete novice but not sure what would be needed for these appliances.
They will be located underneath the kitchen counter and above that there is a standard 13A 2 gang socket. Can I just spur another double socket to underneath the counter space? or do I need some sort of fused socket?

Appreciate any help here.

Sponsored Links
You could spur from it, but it would depend whether this socket is part of the true ring or a spur, as you cannot spur from a spur.
Adding a 13A fused connection to protect outlets would restrict you to 13A maximum. W/M and T/D combined load could well be pushing up to 6kW, around 26A. So not ideal to do that.
I would consider above worktop isolation for each appliance down to a single unswitched socket outlet, keeping the ring complete through the isolation switches, these can be 20A rated DP isolators or switched 13A FCU.
It is important to make yourself aware of permitted safe zones and the requirement of RCD protection for newly buried cables and socket outlets.

these can be 20A rated DP isolators

Only if the manufacturer is willing to guarentee that the supply terminals are suitable for looping a 32A ring through. Otherwise you must assume they are rated to 20A, and would you you a 20A joint box to joint a ring?

In reality the terminals are probably exactly the same as on a 13A fused spur from the same range, but if you are the one signing to sa design compliant with 7671...