Power Shower 'motor' overheating

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have had a power shower for about 4 years.

It has now developed a fault, in that it gives a normal power shower for no more than 5 minutes, then the pressure drops.

The 'motor' bit of the power shower is then hot to the touch, and gives off an overheating smell.

Is this a sign of a dying power shower? If so, do I need a whole new one, or can I just replace the motor?

Alternatively, is the unit water-cooled and could air in the unit cause this (I'm not an expert, as you can see). If so, can it be bled, like a radiator?

Thanks, as usual, any help.

Love

CJ

Sponsored Links
Is this just an electric shower unit or a fully pumped shower system?

It's an electric pump, in the airing cupboard, ie not an electrical unit attached to the shower wall, if that makes sense.

It is a 'Showermate 1.4 bar twin' model, if that helps,

Thanks

CJ

Sponsored Links
Have you checked the pump inlet filters & impeller chamber for debris (strip down required)? Air locks can also be a problem & you can bleed them but I would have thought any problem in the pipe system would have shown itself long before now. Could be the motor but if it's still running OK most likely a blockage, impeller problem or even the bearings could be knackered. If your up to it, it's worth stripping the pump, cleaning everything out, inspect & replace what's necessary, bleed the system & start over but one thing’s for sure, if you continue to run it as is, the motor will fry itself before too long!

If all else fails fit a new pump; it’s a bit like vacuum cleaners IMO, not worth replacing just the motor unless you can be 100% sure the rest of the pump is OK & there are no other problems.

As richard c said that type of pump isn't worth changing just the motor i thought you meant an electric power shower. ;)

Many thanks, seco and Richard C.