Pre made CCTV cables (chopped off BNC)

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys, new here and in a bit of a pickle. I've done several CCTV installs over the years, so not a total noob but I'm stuck. Adding another camera to an existing system I installed, the guy bought all the kit himself and everything is fine bar this new camera. It's a 200M run of PRE MADE cable, 2x 100M spools, not shotgun cable. The really thin skinny stuff with the BNC and power supply connectors pre made, here is a link to the cables https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/5M-100M-...hash=item2cb630ffb9:m:mPPT5wfdGUCjDavJHBHd7PA

So what I've done is join the cables together to create a 200M run, power side was just a simple case of plugging in (male to female) but the signal side obviously had female BNC to female BNC. In the absence of the appropriate coupler, I just chopped both BNC off and joined the wires, fiddly and not ideal (I am aware of this) but it isn't working. Camera has power but zero image. I've read up on this, including a good thread on here, some are insistent you CANNOT do this and others say you can. Is there a reason WHY you can't do this? Is it the fact I've joined the cables and done away with the BNC's? I'm stumped as to why that wouldn't work. Or is it just too long a run? Any help would be greatly appreciated and yes you may all feel free to call me names for chopping the BNC's off, but I'd love to find out if this absolutely CANNOT work or if I've just done it wrong?

I should also mention that the camera does work as I tested it before hand.

Links in this post may contain affiliate links for which DIYnot may be compensated.
Sponsored Links
Have you bleeped the cable through? You could have failed in the connection or reversed the cables

It's possible that the camera can't send a signal down 200m of cheap cable. It might need an amp.

You should have used a barrel connector