Preparing chipboard bathroom floor for new vinyl

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello All

I am not very experienced with DIY and am hoping someone here can offer me advice.

I live in a 1st floor flat (built 2001). I think my block was quite cheaply put together (other contractors have mentioned this...).

The bathroom floor had ceramic tiles of which some were loose, others cracked etc. A lot of the grout was discoloured and cracking in a lot of places. I am led to believe this damage was caused by the tiles being laid directly onto a chipboard floor. I'm told that chipboard has slight movement which in time will have caused the tiles to move and crack. In short, this type of floor was probably not suited to ceramic tiles.

In my kitchen, I had the same problem. Last year I removed all of the tiles fairly painfully, leaving a flat(ish) chipboard surface (it had a few imperfections where the tiles had pulled up some of the chipboard when removed, but was mostly flat). I then had guys from Carpetright come and lay a new vinyl floor. They covered the chipboard with sheets of plywood which they nailed down with a machine. They then laid the vinyl floor on top of this. I was more than happy with the result.

I now want to do the same thing in the bathroom, however, I have found removing the tiles to do extremely difficult. In some parts, they have come up fairly easily but left a lot of the adhesive behind. In other parts, they have brought up the adhesive and chunks of chipboard also. As you can see from the pictures I have attached, it has not left anything like a smooth surface behind.

My question is, how flat does the chipboard surface have to be in order to secure plywood to it? Can I screw/nail a plywood floor through the old tile adheisve into the chipboard (once I have got the rest of the tiles up of course...)? I've really struggled to remove it. Or is there some other way of levelling it out, like a foam or filler?