Previous movement but no evidence to suggest this is ongoing

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am looking to buy a three bedroom semi detached house. House is 85 years old.

Valuation survey is done last week with below points:

• The property require repair and refurbishment
  • The property has suffered previous movement but I saw no evidence to suggest this is ongoing
  • The damp proof course is too low and may not be fully effective
The lender has offered the mortgage based on the asking price.

I called the valuer and asked about second point regarding "previous movement". He said there was a repaired crack in the property and that has triggered his "previous movement" observation.

I am new to property world and I am bit worried that should I go ahead to buy the house or not? and how this will impact insurance etc?

Should I go for more detailed structured/building survey?

Thanks for all help

Sponsored Links
It's 85 years old, what do you expect?

Just buy it and don't worry, the crack won't affect any insurance, but you would be wise to have a survey done regardless on a house of that age

Thanks for reply.

So I should go for Building Survey or HomeBuyer report?

I am going to visit property again and will take pics.

And not just a mortgage survey but a proper structural survey.

The one you have had done sounds like a mortgage company survey to assure them they will only lend you what they think its worth in its present condition. Having a structural one done will either give you peace of mind or decide that it is not the right house for you.
With a structural survey you may even be able to get the price lowered enough to cover the cost of your survey.

Sponsored Links
Yes it was mortgage survey.

Now next question is how to find a structure surveyor... Just search on internet or go back to lender for structure survey?

Property is in Essex, Chelmsford area.

Thanks for all help.

Building survey instructed..