PVA emulsion coat before wall painting?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
A newbie here.
I have never done any room decorating myself but I am going to give it a go in one room for now.

My other half said that before I paint the walls with the paint, I should firstly prepare them with an emlusion of PVA, that it is better. Like a base or first coat. And that it comes cheaper, too. And that it has a better paint adherence, better coverage or the final finish. I tried to find some info on internet but the info it is scarce, besides people having issues with patches that the paint does not adhere to after the previous PVA use.

Can someone enlighten me (an maybe my other half as well) whether this is actually true? Pros and cons?

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
FFS NO!

PVA glue is water soluble. Emulsion paint contains water. When you put the paint on it, the glue will soften and partially dissolve. If you wipe the wall clean with a damp sponge, or if you breathe too hard, the paint is liable to bubble up or peel off.

There are still a few people who recommend putting glue on walls. Not many, as most have been killed by angry decorators.

Thanks. I share your sentiment in green, btw. :D

Nooooooo! Unless you like trying to paint a teflon like surface step away from the PVA.(n)
If the walls are plain unpainted plaster give them a mist coat first, that is simply a diluted coat of emulsion 15 to 20 % water to paint. The idea is for it to soak in and seal the surface.
A matt paint, white is ideal is best for this.
When dry away you go with two coats of your chosen paint. Avoid cheap own brands for your first attempt and also avoid Farrow and Ball it is really expensive and even professional painters hate it, difficult to apply and to get a good finish.
Good luck(y)

Sponsored Links
Sorry, I should have said that the walls have been painted before, at least once. The latest was quite a poor job as I can see...