Qualifications

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello all,

I have just had a change of career and am now renovating and converting domestic properties. I have no formal electrical qualifications and would like to gain the right qualifications to enable me to rewire, test and certify electrical installations in domestic properties.

I am a Chartered Marine Engineer (BEng and CEng) and have studied electrical and electronic engineering during my marine engineering degree. I also worked as HVAC engineer for four years about ten years ago installing, commissioning and fault finding commercial systems. I have a good working knowledge of electrical installations but as I have said hold no formal qualifications.

Any pointers as to the correct qualifications to aim for would be most appreciated. I have done some reading and have come up with either the C&G 2381 or EAL Level 2 Domestic Installers Qualification but I am not sure which would be the best.

I am not looking for the cheapest method but am looking for the route which would give the greatest understanding.

Any advice would be most appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Hello,

A lot of people are now doing the city and guilds 2330, think its part time spread over 2years... would be worth doing this to start off with and then develop your practical skills in installation and wireing.

hope this helps,

carlos

afaict if you have the practical skills already the fastest route is probablly 3281 (16th edition regs, open book exam, from what i can gather anyone with reasonable familiarity with the wiring regs should pass this without a course) and 2391 (the inspection and testing course).

2381 and 2391 should be easilly enough to get into one of the part P self cert schemes.