Part qualification

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Im a gas engineer and am very interested in electrics. Someone I work with said he used to have an electrical qualification that would allow him to do minor works such as adding sockets and lights ect, not rewires ect. Does such a qualification still exist as I'd be very interested in doing it to gain a better knowledge!

Cheers all.

Sponsored Links
Oops.

It appears that when I stripped all of the stuff out of the URL that they don't need to know I took a little bit too much out.

Fixed.

Sponsored Links
You could go for a "Defined Scope" membership of one of the Part P Scams (sorry, schemes).

This would allow you to carry out notifiable works " as a necessary adjunct
to or arising out of other work being carried out by the registered person"

So he could fit a fused spur in a kitchen if it were used to provide a power feed to a boiler that he was installing.

More detail here (see page 2)
http://www.napit.org.uk/downloads/CP_Electrical_Scheme.pdf

was just looking at Elecsa, unlike Nappit and NICEIC I cant find any references to "scope" NICEIC have Level A and Level B Scope, which looks to be assessment dependant? but could be wrong... and Nappit look like they have Full Scope and Defined Scope... which are qualification dependant?

With full and level a you can do everything, consumer unit changes, rewires.. but level b and defined you can only do electrical work relating to other work like kitchens and bathrooms.

But Elecsa, I cannot find any references to different scope, just Part P registered with them.. nor can I find any references to qualifications required other than a "17th Edition Qualification" unless you choose their optional PIR assessment.

So it looks like as long as you have a 17th Edition Qualification, you can register with elecsa and do any work.

Have to say though, on Elecsa website its not clear or obvious at all which qualifications they require.