Queries re. repairing roof on summer house

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

After some advice on how to proceed with the repair the roof on a summer house in our back garden, said house came with the property we bought and it is in fairly good shape - save for the roof... however I've little experience repairing things in general, especially roofs!

Would this be a good candidate for EPDM roofing? Here are some pics:

IMG_8558.jpg

IMG_8560.jpg

IMG_8559.jpg

IMG_8556.jpg

Also - there isn't anything under the felt save for the wooden slats. Should there not be some sort of layer between the slats and the felt?

The neighbour said that the previous owner put it in around 25 years ago, and the felt is quite clearly past it's best-by date. The rest of the house is in good shape, and it is surprisingly mould/bug free. Don't know what kind of wood it is... smells vaguely like cedar.

Anyway... it is rather awkward to get up there with a ladder, I mean I can get up to roof level, but I'm a bit wary of treading on the roof as it only appears to be made out of slats. How would a person usually go about this?

Lastly... we've a fair amount of work that is more urgent to do to the real house, was thinking of putting some Roofix on there for the time being to hold this at bay until I can tackle the task properly over the summer. Might this be a decent stop-gap measure?

As it turns out, our flat-roofed garage has a similar issue (cracking felt) and it is lower on the urgency list compared to other needs (new bathroom etc). I had patched up the cracked edges of the garage roof felt with flashband, it is OK save for one area where water tends to pool a bit, can see the plywood underneath with some wet spots.

Was thinking about patching both the summer house and garage roofs with some Roofix until summer, when the budget situation offers some more flexibility.

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
The roof covering and the roof "design" have been failing since day one.