question about building garden steps

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello there,

I am building some steps up a steep slope

I am basing the design on our next door neighbours (pic attached) and I was wondering how to drive the metal posts into the ground. it looks back breaking! and also where to get them from - or any oher alternatives you could think of.

bare in mind I haven't done this before, so i don't have much equipment...

the steps are going to be made from 8 x 4 sleepers.

Thanks very much in advance for any replies!

Nick

[/img]

Sponsored Links
Thanks for replying!

Im not comitted to that method...but im a bit wary of using concrete. I've never used concrete before, and Im not sure id have as much luck in doing a good job!

it's probably not nearly as hard as you think, and is a handy skill to have. pavingexpert is full of advice on this. What would make your project a bit more straightforward would be that you are only having to lay small amounts of concrete at a time. also, since there is a bit of 'give' in concrete when first laid, getting levels etc right shouldn't be too hard.

Sponsored Links
thanks again - it might come to that if, I cant work out a way of doing it with the posts...very helpful link, thank you

would it be very hard to just hammer them into the ground with a mallet? i think they are around 4 cm thick

do you mean the metal posts? probably not that difficult, so long as you don't hit a rock on the way down and the posts are strong enough not to go out of shape when hit. I'd have thought that the difficulties might arise from (a) acquiring suitable metal posts -- though you might already have some (b) cutting them to a suitable length --- difficulty will depend on how strong the posts are and what tools you have available and (c) getting them to hold the timber nice and firmly.

you might have a look at this where they didn't have any supports at the front at all but used rebar (steel dowel) and bolts