quick question re: soldering copper vs push fit plastic plum

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
evening all - sorry to make my first post a question but i'm in need of info fast & having read a few threads you lot seem pretty well clued up. (wish i'd found you sooner, before i started a few things, but thats another story which i'm sure i'll get round to!)

anyway, just a quick question for now i have a builder sorting out an extension for me & he's about to start the plumbing tomorrow (hence my urgency). the'll be plumbing in 2 toilets, a bath and a bathroom sink tomorrow, and will eventually be adding a kitchen sink, washing machine and combi-fed shower to the list of things to plumb

now i'm a traditionalist & when he said "plumbing" i imagined there would be loads of copper pipe & soldering going on - not so - it looks as though he intends using push-fit plastic plumbing throughout. now i have no experience of this stuff at all, but to me it all looks a bit too easy & a bit flimsy

is this stuff actually any good - how does push-fit plastic compare with copper & solder? is it just a case of personal preference on his part, or is he having a complete laugh at my expense??! my initial thought was "why should i pay him to do that, i could probably do it myself?" so is there something i'm missing

i intend insisting that any pipes which are on display are copper, but should i be concerned at what's hidden under the floorboards too? or is this stuff just as safe(or safer) than copper

any & all opinions, theories etc greatly received. cheers

Sponsored Links
Suggest you search the forum for "push fittings", it's been covered many times.

There are too many millions in use for them not to work. I'd say that most failures are down to human error ie - not using inserts or not tugging on the pipe to make the inner ring grip.

joe

Main poroblem is not pushing them right home.