what pipe / fittings to use... brass / plastic etc?>

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All

Have come to do the plumbing on my new extension and I'm wondering what's best to use?.. The house is 20 years old and is done in copper throughout... the extension is a single floor 3m x 3m but needs plumbing for a toilet, two sinks, two rads, and a washing machine... I want to use the same system for cold water / hot water and the rad's if possible.

question is, which is best / cheapest... I know coppers not cheap but the fittings are.. plastic ones do appear to be a bit expensive in comparison?.
But then which system is the best?...
Standard solder on copper
Push fit on copper (once only type)
Push fit on copper (undoable type)
Plastic push fit
Plastic twist lock

and if plastic, what system / make?.. I've never used plastic before but looks like the tube is cheap, but the fitting can get expensive?...

Any advice appreciated :)

Sponsored Links
Copper is proper. With soldered fittings

Plastic has come a long way in the last few years and can be used in a wide variety of application, but for my money, I would agree with 'muggles'.

I never liked the look of plastic pipework anyway.

Interesting... I thought I'd get a raft of plastic supporters :eek:

It's always been copper and solder for me in the past but yes, I thought times had moved on.. and the speed you can do plastic was quite attractive... But if you thinks copper is proper... then copper it is ;)

cheers all....

Sponsored Links
Problems tend to occur when people find a faster way of doing things. Everyone suddenly thinks that they can do it, knocking up a s**t of a job and 5 years down the line when the property gets sold, someone blames the 'plumber' for the poor look of work / arrangement of the pipework, because the bloke before had no idea what he was doing.

At least with copper, you are (for the most part) forced to do a half decent job.