Re-pointing of tiled path - more work needed than 1st agreed

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello! I was hoping to tap the combined knowledge of the professional community on here. A little bit of background first. I live in a Edwardian mid-terrace house, with small garden to the front of the property. As is typical of this type of property there is a small path from the front gate to the front door that is paved with encaustic tiles. After a harsh winter the pointing between the tiles had started to break down and was in need of repair. After obtaining several quotes, sourced from 'Check-a-trade', I decided to employ someone that I'd used previously (plastering) and been happy with. So on 24/10/2011 work was carried out and the pathway re-pointed.

It was during the first six months after completion that I contacted the trades-person (a plasterer by trade, afaik), regarding a small area of unfinished pointing on the front garden wall (this was also done at the same time as the path). He said that he would attend to the problem within a week - and unfortunately didn't show.

On 5/4/2013, I contacted him again via email and telephone (mobile message and message left with partner). This time about the pointing on the tiled pathway which had started to break up in addition to the unfinished pointing on the wall. We agreed that he would inspect the problems during the week of 8/5/13 and 12/5/13 and telephone to let me know the outcome. I didn't hear from him again. :mad: