Regulations

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone, I hope someone can advise me.

I am just having an extension built to my house. I'm not a pro, just a DIYer and in the past, I've always done my own work (extending the ring, adding spurs and extending the lighting circuit etc). I've always done it with regs in mind and it's always gone OK. My intention with the extension was to wire it myself and then get an electrician I know to check it all and connect it all to a new consumer unit which he will fit. (I've run out of outlets on my current one) However, now that the Government have introduced these new rules I'm a bit unsure. All this about notifying the LABC is beyone me. Can I not just do what I propose?

Sponsored Links
If you search Part P in this forum all become clear…or as clear as it’s going to get.

As part of your building reg approval for your extension you are normally asked if your doing the wiring yourself or plan use a sparks/company who can self certify. I had to sign a separate form to declare that I was going to self certify. If you choose to do it yourself you will need to submit some designs as you’ve done for the rest of the works.

Once you’ve read a bit feel free to come back with some more questions because there are a few people on here who know it backwards

pensdown - thank's very much for your reply. Having read through Part P (I was aware of it but had never read the small print) I can see that the nanny state is well and truly with us to stay. I'm also possibly infringing electricians human rights also. Rather than risk some draconian measure, I'm going to give up and shell out for an electrician to do all of the work. I've nothing aginst sparky's, but this law is a licence to print money. Oh well, it means I won't be able to bring wires diagonally down walls, fit sockets without earths, fit normal sockets next to the bath and run 57 sockets off one spur - the usual stuff every DIYer does.