Relay question

Joined
17 Sep 2004
Messages
45
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
OK. Next in the ongoing saga of plumbing in our MVHR system.

I have the following issue.
We are installing an MVHR system, which has a low/med/high fan speed run by a remote, wired in switch. All fine, and I asked before how to wire it in, and am doing so with a .75mm yy cable.

BUT... I'd like to run the unit to high if a shower produces an amount of humidity. I can put in a sensor which runs out a line and neutral, but I actually want the switch, three showers and two heat sensors to ALL optionally run the fan on high.

When I turn on the high speed I don't need to turn off the lower speed.

I've worked out that I need a relay, with up to six inputs and one output. But I can't find one online, or, rather, it's likely I'm not looking in the right place.

Help? Please?
 
Sponsored Links
Sponsored Links
Joined
28 Jul 2009
Messages
7,535
Reaction score
728
Location
Kent
Country
United Kingdom
OK. Next in the ongoing saga of plumbing in our MVHR system.

I have the following issue.
We are installing an MVHR system, which has a low/med/high fan speed run by a remote, wired in switch. All fine, and I asked before how to wire it in, and am doing so with a .75mm yy cable.

BUT... I'd like to run the unit to high if a shower produces an amount of humidity. I can put in a sensor which runs out a line and neutral, but I actually want the switch, three showers and two heat sensors to ALL optionally run the fan on high.

When I turn on the high speed I don't need to turn off the lower speed.

I've worked out that I need a relay, with up to six inputs and one output. But I can't find one online, or, rather, it's likely I'm not looking in the right place.

Help? Please?
So It's all sensors and one switch?
Is the output on the sensors a relay contact?
 
Joined
23 May 2010
Messages
94
Reaction score
15
Location
Mid Glamorgan
Country
United Kingdom
Last edited:
Joined
11 Jan 2013
Messages
5,980
Reaction score
1,340
Location
Durham
Country
United Kingdom
Or 1 relay with 120,v coil, stick diodes in the 240v lines to the relay & a cap to N after the diodes to smooth it out a bit.
Sounds like an Arduino job to me :)
 
Joined
28 Jul 2009
Messages
7,535
Reaction score
728
Location
Kent
Country
United Kingdom
I think we need to find out what the sensors are capable of and how they work before we offer advice.
 
Joined
3 Nov 2006
Messages
27,278
Reaction score
3,001
Location
Bedfordshire
Country
United Kingdom
Sunray's suggestion is very sensible, if all the sensors have outputs that are voltage free contacts then it might be that a relay will not be needed
 
Joined
28 Jul 2009
Messages
7,535
Reaction score
728
Location
Kent
Country
United Kingdom
The reason I ask is I have encountered humidistats with:
2 wires and require a fairly specific 110V relay,
3 wires with a solidstate output from 'L'.
4 wires with real voltfree contacts.
4 wires with solidstate VF contacts rated for ELV and some of those have very limited current.
4 wires which output 24V DC.

All of which need to be handled differently.
 
Joined
17 Sep 2004
Messages
45
Reaction score
1
Country
United Kingdom
The sensors are xh-w3005 humidity sensors and put out 240v line and neutral when on.
The switch is from Boulder and is like this:
DHV-04-100B-Wiring-pdf-1024x850.jpg
The multiple relay looks good but really I dare say I just need a relay triggered and then putting out power when on for line power from any of the sensors or the switch.
 
Joined
11 Jan 2013
Messages
5,980
Reaction score
1,340
Location
Durham
Country
United Kingdom
If your sensors are as described, are only connected to your central system and don't object to the output going live when they are inactive then yes you can connect them all in parallel to a relay that REPLACES k2 in your drawings.
Otherwise some buffering is required.
Note that relay k2 switches power from one motor tap to a different motor tap so a relay or switch in parallel with the outputs of k2 will not work properly.
 
Joined
17 Jun 2004
Messages
6,803
Reaction score
308
Country
United Kingdom
Note that relay k2 switches power from one motor tap to a different motor tap so a relay or switch in parallel with the outputs of k2 will not work properly.

And is likely to cause damage as part of the winding would be shorted out. Don't do this!

You'll need to have a changeover contact on one relay controlling the MVHR, all the other inputs need to switch this (probably through more relays)
 
Joined
28 Jul 2009
Messages
7,535
Reaction score
728
Location
Kent
Country
United Kingdom
If your sensors are as described, are only connected to your central system and don't object to the output going live when they are inactive then yes you can connect them all in parallel to a relay that REPLACES k2 in your drawings.
Otherwise some buffering is required.
Note that relay k2 switches power from one motor tap to a different motor tap so a relay or switch in parallel with the outputs of k2 will not work properly.
And is likely to cause damage as part of the winding would be shorted out. Don't do this!

You'll need to have a changeover contact on one relay controlling the MVHR, all the other inputs need to switch this (probably through more relays)

Based on the information gleaned so far and making some assumptions:
IF the drawing of the DHV-04/100B is accurate & complete and it has 2 motors as it appears, then the above advice [in black] is incorrect and I see no problem to the motors to apply mains voltage to both high and low simultaneously.

Typically 2 speed motors will have 2 'taps' as described above but these appear to simply have series capacitors to run on a reduced speed.

The pictures of the xh-w3005 sensor clearly show a relay with Thick PCB tracks from under the relay [presumably only to the relay contacts] to the input and output wires, implying that there is not an expected problem with running several sensors in parallel.

I must stress that from this distance I can't guarantee my advice is correct but based on far from complete information or any form of testing I don't forsee any problem with connecting multiple yellow wires to 'H' terminal.

HOWEVER there will be a full 230V coming out of 'L' terminal and you would have to verify that will not cause any problems to whatever is connected to it. Equally when running in low speed a voltage, possibly approaching full mains voltage, will be coming from 'H' terminal.
 

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

 
Sponsored Links
Top