Relay wiring help needed

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Help, I'm very stuck.

I need to wire up a relay, it's for a cheese curing fridge project that in working on. I know what I'm doing except when it comes to this replay (I may have the wrong one).

Also, I have little electronic knowledge so please be gentle....

This is what I have bought:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/201097311707

What I want it to do is switch the power on and off to a fridge, I propose to use an extension lead and wire in the relay in line to the earth feed.
I have a also got one of these (or very similar) to control everything:
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/181106804925 - this item I understand and have running.

My issue is how to wire the relay. I was anticipating a 4 pin relay, electromagnet in and out and switch in and out, that I could have handled.
Instead I have an 8 pin relay with no wiring diagram or numbering and even if I had one how do I know which spade terminals connect to which screw connectors!

Can anyone tell me in plain English which wire should go where please?

Many thanks in advance.
[/url]

Links in this post may contain affiliate links for which DIYnot may be compensated.
Sponsored Links
The item from eBay:

has a 5 amp current rating so if you only switched the live, you could get away with just using this,
since it has its own relay built into it.

Can anyone tell me in plain English which wire should go where please?
No - if you don't have a wiring diagram or other information on these two items, then there is no way that anyone else could possibly know anything about them or what you intend to do with them.

You also appear to have a 110V AC thermostat, and a relay which has a 12V DC coil to switch a 240V AC load - unclear how those items could work together in any circumstances.

Hopefully this is a mistake:
I propose to use an extension lead and wire in the relay in line to the earth feed.

The relay from eBay: