Removing a bidet - stop ends etc

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have no experience of plumbing jobs but want to remove a bidet.

It has both hot and cold water pipes and a plastic waste. Can I just cut the copper water pipes with a hacksaw, push a plastic stop-end on the end of both pipes, then just cut the waste pipe, unscrew the bidet from the floor and thats it?

As the cut pipes will be under the floor just shoving a plastic end on them makes me nervous, but I assume this is what they are for.

The hot/cold pipes also have earth wires attached - should I just leave them attached to the pipes after I cut them?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
"dead legs" of pipe can cause various problems (like legionella, and banging) so you should cut the right back to the last T piece. Push fittings rely on a rubber O ring so you need to smoothe hacksaw cut ends VERY well.

You'll be open to the drain when you cut the waste so it will niff. So you need to see where it goes. and cap off the right place. You can get "compression" waste fittings which will fit any type of pipe, as long as you get the size (approx 32mm or 40mm) correct

TYou can leave the earthing cableson the uncut bits of pipe. Things are often daisy-chained so don't disconnect any other bits .

I'm not certain but I think to use the plastic push fittings you need a better edge than you'll get with a hack saw so buy a pipe cutter. You should also be able to get some kind of blank cap for the waste.

I've used Hep2O plastic pipe and fittings a few times in the last 3 months with no problems.

I think the earth is supposed to be a continuous wire linking everything conductive in the room. As long as it one continuos piece of wire connecting all your pipes, any metal sinks etc and I think any appliances like showers heaters etc then its ok.

I'm a bit of a newbe to plumbing so wait of someone else confirming what I've said before attempting anything.

Allan