Removing an in the wall Radiator

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Don't know if anyone has removed one of these, But i have a 1930's house that has a heating system with invisible Radiators built into the walls. They are mainly recessed into the brickwork and plastered over with a single valve mounted in the skirting board. I believe the system is completely disconnected and empty of water (but not completely sure). We also have a more tradional working system probably installed in the 70's. I want to remove one of the old cast iron radiators which actually sits proud of the wall but is stiil plastered over to make a feature.....has anybody done this or can anyone offer any advice/tips etc...

Sponsored Links
I guess you have one of the few Art Deco houses in a seaside location :idea: I`ve never seen a hidden rad system you describe - Worked in Sussex since 1970 - look forward to the pics. ;)

Sponsored Links

Images uploaded, I am a novice to this website so I hope this works? if not maybe you can review the album I created? I only know of one other property that has this system so it must be unusual, can't image that it was very efficient either as the heat would have to pass through plaster......

Thaks for posting them, is that 'panel' made of plaster? that must be the warmest window in the UK!!!!!

I guess you need to take up some flooring and see where the pipes are connecting to the rad, they could well be steel!