Removing / Capping Old Boiler Pipes

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,
Newbie here. Im in the process of refurbishing my bathroom and removing old bath and replacing with walk in shower etc.

Ive attached a photo of old pipes that were attached to the old electric boiler and also fed the old shower (the 2 vertical pipes left and right).

I would like to cap off the pipes pictured under the floor but no idea what each do and if safe to cap off. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Stu

Attachments

• 20170612_211053.jpg
    20170612_211053.jpg
    91.8 KB · Views: 603
Sponsored Links
The top pipe runs up the wall. To the attic perhaps? Is it capped in the attic? If you draw water through taps do the pipes get hot or cold? From your picture I think all that anybody could be sure of is that the one with a gate valve on it is probably not gas. Do you mean the 2 vertical pipes coming out of the floor were the shower supplies? If so, one would have been hot and the other cold. They are now teed together??

Hi, should have put this in context.
The pipes are in the cupboard where the old boiler was located, adjacent is the bathroom. Its a ground floor flat, no attic.
In the crawl space below the hot pipe goes off underneath towards the kitchen, the cold goes straight to the back wall where the bathroom is located.
Its the bit of piping that appears to have another feeding off and back into the supply I cant work out.

When you say "old boiler" do you mean old cylinder? You now have a combi perhaps? So the one that runs up the wall, where to?

Sponsored Links
They did run to the shower that was on the adjacent wall but thats now removed.
Yes was old style boiler i guess which plugged in but had combi ever since we moved in.

Cant be bothered to try to guess at pipes function, or if this is relevant, but make sure there is no defunct Back Boiler involved.

Last edited:
Well thanks fireman t no there is no defunct boiler.