Render over Render or just smooth it out?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello!

I'm a DIY newbie, thank you in advance for your help and patience.

The house had water coming in, apparently through cracks in the exterior render.

Their fix was to render all of the exterior rather than just to fill the cracks. I don't believe they took the existing render off, but I wasn't there when they did the work either.

They're done now, and our exterior walls are all bumpy instead of the smooth walls they were previously :eek:

I'm trying hard to understand, but they basically said that they had no choice to make it bumpy and that it's too risky to remove all the render and re-do it smooth because they don't know if the underlying walls will move.

He spoke for 20 minutes and I still don't get it. Something about smooth would have just cracked anyway - which suggests I did have a choice.

Does this make sense to you? I don't like the bumpy - but obviously I'd choose bumpy and dry over damp and smooth. I just need to know if he's pulling a fast one and trying to get out of the fact that he should have asked me what style I wanted...

Regardless of that, do I have any options for making it smooth? If I now have render on top of other render, then i doubt i can put even more render on top of that?

Thanks! :)

Pic:

Sponsored Links
ignore the colour shading in the photo - that's just my phone :)

It looks like you have a Tyrolean flicker finish to your walls - believe me this is an excellent water resistant finish that holds masonry paint well too.
I hope that your contractor removed any 'blown' render before making good.
As for 'underlying walls moving' - thats a laugh.....maybe they meant that they didn't want to impact the brickwork needlesly when removing the existing render.
The bumpy finish repels rain water better than smooth painted render, and its certainly the finish I prefer. Your walls look well!
John :)