Render thickness dispute

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, newbie here and a foreigner too, so bear with me as I'm trying to explain the issue

My neighbour wants to render their extension, which happens to be a boundary wall going into my back garden. Very narrow back garden, may I add. Before I go into the actual question I want to clarify that I have not objected to it, I do not intend to object to it and I will happily allow them access to my back garden. Question I do have is this:

As it's a VERY old house our house plans have no measurements. I found somewhere on google (I can't for the life of me find it again) that in such old cases a common agreement is that neightbour can only go up to their soffits or roof tiles where it overhangs. Anything after that is considered breaching into my garden / tresspass. Is that a common UK thing? They said that as it's not structural there is no rule to how thick the render is? Surely explanding a wall is structural, no? Are there any limits to how far neighbours render goes into my garden?

I have no problems with them improving their home but the condenscending tone actually made me consider a land surveyor and a full dispute should they cross the line - they have alot of double standards in terms of what they can do vs what I can do. They lived here for 20+ years and were bossing me around since day 1 when I moved in, including telling me off for walking on my own lawn so I am now quite tempted to push back but I am not entirely sure where to start. I don't want to be rude to them or make their life difficult (as they do mine, lol) but I do want to ensure I am educated in that matter so if they do kick off or give me grief I can find a way to tackle this issue in a proper manner.

Phew, a long one, sorry!

Sponsored Links