Repainting bathroom...walls taken back to plaster...help!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi - have small but well ventilated bathroom...took off peeling vinyl paper which also brought away most of the original (vinyl) paint. Now left with patchy walls, mostly bare plaster, some v persistent patches of vinyl. Am slowly chipping off the vinyl paint - without damaging the plaster..when I've done this, should I seal with PVA solution? Or is this wrong for a bathroom? I was thinking of a Dulux emulsion on the walls... will this peel? Am complete novice. Not sure what I should put on the bare plaster so that I don't end up with mouldy walls or peeling paint... any help much appreciated thanks so much xx

Sponsored Links
Well, I just did the same thing in one of my bathrooms (Suite 21) about two weeks ago. The paint had kinda cracked and wrinkled a bit. I don't know how old it was.

I took the paint off down to the bare plaster.

Patched any gouges by filling them with drywall joint compound and sanded smooth.

Primed with Zinsser's Bullseye 123 water based primer only because that's what I had on hand.

Then I top coated with a paint MEANT for the high humidity inside bathrooms, and in my case I used Zinsser's PermaWhite Bathroom paint in the satin gloss.

And, that's what I do in all 21 of the bathrooms in my small apartment block, and I've never had any peeling problems whatsoever with Zinsser's Bathroom Paint. I think that's 90 percent of the solution.

You don't need to get off every bit of paint. If a paint is putting up a heroic fight to stay on the ceiling, why take it off just to replace it with a less determined paint?

Whatever you use...dont touch dulux kitchen and bathroom paint..its evil in a tin!

Now I'm worried. Why evil in a tin? Hard to paint with, smells bad, what? This is what I might have gone for...do let me in on it ...