repairing solder join advice

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi folks,

after my post couple of days ago I'm really happy my removing and refitting a really dodgy solder join and fitting a few more went great thatnks for all the advice.. :)

Now another one is just seeping slightly. takes few mins and just a seep not even a drip but still needs sorted.

It's the bottom join of this tee:

It would be a real pain to remove and refit which I know is the proper way.. and it's only a small leak from the nearest side, the top and side solder look great.

So do you think I could patch it up? (I'm no expert but as said in last post used to be a good gas welder and seem to have the hang of soldering, none of other joints are leaking. woohoo!

If I can patch it up, what's the best way? Sand it well, wee bit flux, not too much heat and plenty solder??

or is it a total waste of time?

thanks for advice before I try..

Sponsored Links
Either chop it out and replace completely, or resolder it properly - that will no doubt take a couple of attempts.

No water in pipe.
Clean pipes nicely
Enough heat.
Enough flux.
Get the solder running.
Bit more flux
Feed solder in.

Hope for the best.

Rinse

Repeat as necessary.

See my first sentence above.

ok cheers Dan,

so when you say resolder properly, do you mean remove joint totally then clean up & resolder?
rather than try & add solder into the join without completely removing?

It depends why it's leaking.

Like I said, really your best bet is to chop out the fitting completely and replace.

On occasion I have taken this kind of joint apart and wondered how the hell it held water at all.

You may be lucky and get it to hold by just pumping more solder in, but it'll have to be totally water free and you'll need to get the flux right in there before adding solder (heat attracts the flux/solder into the joint).

Sponsored Links
Looks a real mess in the picture.

Drain down and leave for a while.