Replacement extractor fan with timer

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Good evening,

Is it notifiable work to replace an existing extractor fan with timer, for the same but with a built in pull cord to isolate the fan. Both would continue to be operated by a light switch, all in a shower room. There is no existing isolator, installation took place in 2004.

So essentially the only electrical work would be in changing over the fan.

The proposed make is an Xpelair dx100

Cheers

Blup

Sponsored Links
I'm pretty sure it's not notifiable. I didn't notify anyone when I changed mine, anyway!

Assuming the existing installation is OK, replacing it is pretty straightforward. I managed quite easily and I'm not a qualified electrician.

If it's of any help, I bought one of these, which I found to be very effective and also very quiet:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B0080XNKQ0/ref=pe_3187911_189395841_TE_dp_1

Incidentally, the same model is also available with a pull cord switch.

OOI, your proposed fan has a noise rating of 35db

One of the reasons some people grumble about extractors is that they can hear them, so they often turn them off, leading to mouldy bathrooms. Some more modern extractors are about 25db which is noticeably quieter. For example https://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Products/SLSD100CZ.html
and JBR's suggestion which is equally quiet.

Might be worth looking into if you have not bought it yet.

I think the DX100 does not have an overrun timer enabling it to carry on drying out the room after you leave. Again, people often object to these if they have a noisy old fan.

Sponsored Links
Thanks, I'd missed that the Xpelair model with the pull chord didn't have an overrun timer which is what, ideally, I want. There is a version with a humidstat but other posts on this site suggest they're not efficient or effective.