replacing bricks & cause of blown bricks

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

some of the bricks on my outside stairs have 'blown' (hope that's the correct term!) over the past couple of years, see below. am I right to assume the entire structure is save-able i.e. hasn't reached a stage where it requires to be completely rebuilt? I'm thinking about having a go at knocking out and replacing the damaged bricks. I've never done brick work before however I'm a reasonably competent DIY'er, so do you reckon it's a task I should be able to complete?

also, am I right to assume the cause of the blown bricks is water/damp getting in behind (VERY likely through gap on top of stairs, see attached) and then expanding in cold temps? even if not the cause, I'm intending to block the gap between the slabs as well.

overall, is my approach correct? and any idea what kind of bricks they are?

thanks in advance :)

Sponsored Links
They've blown because they are not frost resistant and shouldn't be used in exposed conditions. Generally non frost resistant bricks should only be used above dpc level in dwellings or elsewhere where a dpc has been used.

You can cut out and replace but the same thing will happen eventually to all the others.

You might be better off rendering over them but you will need to make sure you give a good key to the render by using well secured eml as the bricks can continue to suffer frost damage even after being rendered.

thanks for advice. i'm 99% sure it's the same bricks that are used around bottom of the property and i'd wondered why none of those were suffering the same fate however must be as you say i.e. above dpc level. funny you mention rendering over them cause i'd thought about that as well.