Replacing Gas Fire with Electric?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

We've got an old gas fire which has been serviced and deemed okay but we are thinking of replacing it. I've had little experience with this so thought I'd ask for advice before pricing up.

We are considering getting an electric and had two questions:

1. Are electric fires good value for money and how can I spot a good and economical performer?

Should we have the area behind the fire bricked over or covered after the engineer has capped the gas?

If, in your opinion, getting an electric is a waste of time - can you suggest an alternative please.

Sponsored Links
how can I spot a good and economical performer?
All electric fires are equally efficient. Whatever electrical energy is put in will come out as heat.

Are electric fires good value for money
That is far more complex.
Electricity costs a lot more than gas - but you get all of it as heat.
Gas is cheaper, but gas fires waste a substantial amount of the heat in the chimney / flue.
Gas fires require annual servicing, electric fires do not.

Leccy no. Co. Issues

Probably 100 % effiecent gas is not

No flue although u can get flu less gas fires

Blocking up. A chimney completely may not or is not a good ldea they need to breath or u could get damp. Issues

Some leccy fuel effect fires u would be hard pushed not to know they were not solid fuel u can even get them that have a smoke effect

Leccy no. Co. Issues

Probably 100 % effiecent gas is not

No flue although u can get flu less gas fires

Blocking up. A chimney completely may not or is not a good ldea they need to breath or u could get damp. Issues

Some leccy fuel effect fires u would be hard pushed not to know they were not solid fuel u can even get them that have a smoke effect

Thanks - Will not blocking up the old fire place cause draft and let more cold in?

Sponsored Links