Replacing Immersion Switch

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all

Newbie here so please be kind! I hope I'm in the right section for this.

Just bought a new (old) house and I'm starting to look to do some of the immediate jobs that need doing and I need some help with an immersion heater control. At the moment, it is a simple switch on the wall to turn the heater on or off. I want to change this to a timer and have bought a Timeguard NTT03.

I can understand the instructions for the new timer but the problem is I can't understand the wiring of the existing switch which just isn't making sense to me. Picture attached to show the existing wiring.

The new timer just needs a live and neutral in and a live and neutral out. But the existing wiring has a live and neutral in and the then a yellow wire that appears to link the live and neutral out with a black wire also leading from the live out.

I'm probably being really thick but can anyone help me out?

Thanks in advance for any help!
John

Attachments

• fullsizeoutput_d9d.jpeg
    fullsizeoutput_d9d.jpeg
    307.5 KB · Views: 3,894
Sponsored Links
The yellow wire is just for the neon light - wired to outgoing L & N so that it lights when on.

It looks like only the Live is switched - Red to Black.

The Neutral in and out must be connected out of the picture. Can we have a wider shot?

Hi, thanks for replying so quickly. Another couple of pictures below. Nothing but yellow going into N2.

Attachments

• ulnD3tjKR0WeNjVYHEIlsg.jpg
    ulnD3tjKR0WeNjVYHEIlsg.jpg
    169 KB · Views: 484
  • UXwnU7bkQVGEV6E2a68MEA.jpg
    UXwnU7bkQVGEV6E2a68MEA.jpg
    152.8 KB · Views: 632
Red line in.
Black line out.

Blue it seems negative and only there to work the neon.

I am worried about time switches on immersion heaters as if it switches hea off too soon could allow legionnaires to develop. Better just insulate the cylinder better.

Sponsored Links
There must be another connector/junction box somewhere.