1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Replacing oven - from single 2.9kw to double 4.9kw

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by thomaspassmore, 13 May 2014.

  1. thomaspassmore

    thomaspassmore

    Joined:
    4 Mar 2013
    Messages:
    48
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No
    The white socket the oven is plugged into is inside a cupboard. The red switch is above the worktop but it's hard wired into there
     
  2. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    40,784
    Thanks Received:
    2,526
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It looks as if (as suggested by Robin earlier), if it can be confirmed by tests that the cable downstream of the red switch {which looks like 2.5mm²} gets adequate fault protection from the 32A MCB (or if that MCB is changed to a 20A one), all that probably needs to be done is to change the white socket to a cooker outlet plate - which would be a simple job.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  3. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    28,012
    Thanks Received:
    3,015
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    That is true.

    However, there are two lots of >2.5mm² wires at the cooker switch - original supply to cooker, I presume.

    Where does the original wiring go?
     
  4. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    40,784
    Thanks Received:
    2,526
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Good point. I noticed that when I looked at the photo and then forgot about it. It would certainly be good to know where that other cable goes (not the least so it can be confirmed that it's safe) - there might even be a cooker outlet already hidden away somewhere!

    Kind Regards, John
     
  5. thomaspassmore

    thomaspassmore

    Joined:
    4 Mar 2013
    Messages:
    48
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for all the advice guys - so am I right to presume I would be stupid to do this myself?
     
  6. EFLImpudence

    EFLImpudence

    Joined:
    7 Jul 2010
    Messages:
    28,012
    Thanks Received:
    3,015
    Location:
    Retired to:
    Country:
    Portugal
    Not stupid, as such, but just not certain that it would all be completely satisfactory.

    I suspect there is a cooker connector behind the unit so am wondering why it was done like that in the first place.
     
  7. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    40,784
    Thanks Received:
    2,526
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    As I said before, the main thing you couldn't do yourself would be the tests to confirm that the fault protection was satisfactory - so you would be 'gambling' if you undertook the work yourself. There is now also this extra question, as raised by EFLI, as to where that third cable from the red switch goes - do you have any idea? That really ought to be looked into, to make sure that it is safe.

    However, none of this should be very much work, so it didn't ought to break the bank.

    Kind Regards, John
     
  8. thomaspassmore

    thomaspassmore

    Joined:
    4 Mar 2013
    Messages:
    48
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Presumably thought this "third" wire has been there for a while, so its as likely to cause a problem today as it was a year ago?

    I will be getting a builder and electrician in in August to redo the whole kitchen - so anything I do would just be temporary until then.

    Just so I understand - whats the risk? Are we talking - there could be a fire, or it might trip the fuse box?
     
  9. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    40,784
    Thanks Received:
    2,526
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    True - although, as you say, if it ever was a potential problem/hazard, it still will be! However, far from being a problem, this might be a 'positive' for you. If that third wire goes to some currently hidden cooker output plate, there may be no work to be done at all, other than connect your new cooker to that plate.
    The risk of what? - not confirming the adequacy of fault protection or not finding out where that third cable goes?

    Kind Regards, John
     
  10. thomaspassmore

    thomaspassmore

    Joined:
    4 Mar 2013
    Messages:
    48
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The risk of not checking fault protection...
     
  11. JohnW2

    JohnW2

    Joined:
    28 Jan 2011
    Messages:
    40,784
    Thanks Received:
    2,526
    Location:
    Buckinghamshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If it transpired that fault protection was inadequate, if a fault ever arose which resulted in the casing of your cooker becoming 'live' (hence obviously representing a potential risk to life and limb), the breaker in your consumer unit may not disconnect the electricity (to protect life/limb) as rapidly as the regulations require (or, in the worst case, at all).

    Kind Regards, John
     
  12. thomaspassmore

    thomaspassmore

    Joined:
    4 Mar 2013
    Messages:
    48
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmmmm

    That doesnt sound ideal....

    Thanks a lot for the help
     
Loading...

Share This Page