Replacing radiator pipe

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I lifted my bedroom radiator off the wall whilst I wallpapered behind it and subsequently bent the pipe where it goes under the floorboards. Now the radiator won't work. What do I have to do to fix it and more importantly how?

Sponsored Links
You have kinked the pipe and caused a restriction. Firstly you will have to lift some boards to expose the pipework, then ascertain what size the pipe is (8, 10 OR 15mm). DRain your system, cut out the bad peice and use either a speedfit fit push on or compression type staight connector of the correct size for your pipe. You can get away without draining the system, just turn the rad off and vent off any pressure usinng a bit of hose a bucket conncted to the drain valve usually founf near a rad downstairs somewhere. Get some old towels to catch the drips and do it as quick as you can.

I wite computer software for a living but plumbing isn't rocket science it just reqires a bit of common sense.

amhelectro said:
You have kinked the pipe and caused a restriction. Firstly you will have to lift some boards to expose the pipework, then ascertain what size the pipe is (8, 10 OR 15mm). DRain your system, cut out the bad peice and use either a speedfit fit push on or compression type staight connector of the correct size for your pipe. You can get away without draining the system, just turn the rad off and vent off any pressure usinng a bit of hose a bucket conncted to the drain valve usually founf near a rad downstairs somewhere. Get some old towels to catch the drips and do it as quick as you can.

I wite computer software for a living but plumbing isn't rocket science it just reqires a bit of common sense.

Do NOT take this advice. It is wrong. It may not be rocket science, but you have little common sense.

He's on the right lines. What he's trying to describe is how to cause the system water to hang in suspension.