Replacing shower pull cord

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

DIY newbie here!

So I have an Aquatronics 2 electric shower, and the pull cord has broken, not the actual cord, but the plastic bit at the top of the cord that is inside the switch. It was getting very hard to switch on and off recently and well I pulled it last night a bit too hard and it just broke...

//www.diynot.com/shop/Marbo_45A_Pull_Cord_Sw__Neon/15581

This is basically what it looks like...am I fine buying this one, or any other similar one? How do I know whether to get a 45A or 50A version as I have seen both floating online?

How exactly do I change it? I am a complete n00b...is there a guide or something? Do I need to reconnect all the cables etc? Im assuming I should turn off the house electricity or something first...lol?

Also do I need to change the WHOLE thing? Or is it possible to just change the cord with the plastic thing at the top, how will I know it will fit or are they all the same shape at the top?

And lastly am I right in turning it off by the pull cord after every shower, and back on before each one? Sometimes that means its being turned on/off multiple times in one day..or should it be left on all the time, with minimal extra cost?

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
You call an electrician.

Honestly, if you've never done any before, a shower switch is not the thing to start with.

You call an electrician.

Honestly, if you've never done any before, a shower switch is not the thing to start with.
Even though I have not done any house electrics before, I do enjoy doing stuff like this, eg. replacing iphone LCD screen with all the connectors was a fun 1.5 hour experience! Not saying they are comparable...

Anyway I had a thought maybe I just need to replace the cord and plastic thing at the top of it, not the whole switch..I added in a sentance to the OP..is that possible?

If you really mean
the plastic bit at the top of the cord that is inside the switch.