Rerouting electric supply cabling

Joined
5 Feb 2014
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Location
Nottinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
Having finally got a response from NorthernPowerGrid regarding the cabling supplying electricity to my bungalow and that next door, it has been proposed that my neighbour will now get his own individual supply and my cable will be rerouted to facilitate the building of an extension to my property.
I was told by the guy who came to survey the situation that a box will have to be installed on the external wall of my bungalow; however he could provide no advise on how this will be connected to my current system (his knowledge was limited to cabling !).
Since this new box will be in excess of 3 metres from the existing consumer units, etc., will all those items now have to be moved closer to that box or is it possible to have additional cabling installed between them and the new installation (possibly with it's own isolation fuse) ? :confused:
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
31 Mar 2006
Messages
20,000
Reaction score
1,381
Location
Leeds
Country
United Kingdom
That is something for your electrician to decide.

Generally your two options are as you say to either relocate your consumer unit closer to the new intake position, or to install a switch fuse at the intake and run a new cable to the existing installation.
 
Joined
5 Feb 2014
Messages
12
Reaction score
0
Location
Nottinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
I will agree that I had raised a previous entry; however I did feel that was fundamentally about how to deal with the relevant DNO, whereas I felt that this aspect is somewhat different as it relates to how to achieve the supply from the point at which their responsibility ceases. [This was emphasised by the fact that the guy who came to do the survey made it very clear to me that he was unable to provide any further help/advice as he 'dealt with cables and was not an electrician' !]
I could of course cut and paste this subject into my original entry; however I would prefer to deal with this as a separate question.
 
Joined
3 Jan 2011
Messages
2,497
Reaction score
314
Location
Cumberland
Country
United Kingdom
Fit your own box next to the one containing the DNO equipment, get an electrician to run a sub-main between there and your consumer unit controlled by an 80 fuse switch in that cabinet (or a suitably rated MCB).

Probably the easiest & cheapest solution
 
Joined
27 Aug 2003
Messages
69,782
Reaction score
2,884
Location
London
Country
United Kingdom
Lindrick - before you have a 2nd enclosure installed, ask your electrician what his thoughts are about doing what Westie may not advise you to do which is to put a switchfuse in the DNO enclosure - there's usually room to fit an 800KMF and not interfere with the meter or the cutout.
 
Joined
3 Jan 2011
Messages
2,497
Reaction score
314
Location
Cumberland
Country
United Kingdom
Generally customer switchgear is not allowed in the DNO box to allow space for development in the future (or something like that)

I have known supplies refused to be connected if private switchgear is found in the Box.

The only way to get this is to get permission from the DNO

(of course depending on the use of the room behind the sw/fuse could go in there)
 
Sponsored Links
Joined
28 Jan 2011
Messages
50,511
Reaction score
3,412
Location
Buckinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
(of course depending on the use of the room behind the sw/fuse could go in there)
Given that meter tails (meter to CU) up to 3m in length seem to be generally accepted (without any additional protection), does this imply that, for longer runs, up to 3m from meter to switch-fuse is also acceptable?

Kind Regards, John
 
Joined
3 Jan 2011
Messages
2,497
Reaction score
314
Location
Cumberland
Country
United Kingdom
Given that meter tails (meter to CU) up to 3m in length seem to be generally accepted (without any additional protection), does this imply that, for longer runs, up to 3m from meter to switch-fuse is also acceptable?

Yep
 
Joined
28 Jan 2011
Messages
50,511
Reaction score
3,412
Location
Buckinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
Given that meter tails (meter to CU) up to 3m in length seem to be generally accepted (without any additional protection), does this imply that, for longer runs, up to 3m from meter to switch-fuse is also acceptable?
Yep
Thanks for confirming. So, if the total run from meter to CU were, say 4m, then the switch-fuse could be just 1m from the CU? I suspect that some may find that arrangement a little odd!

Kind Regards, John
 
Joined
3 Jan 2011
Messages
2,497
Reaction score
314
Location
Cumberland
Country
United Kingdom
Thanks for confirming. So, if the total run from meter to CU were, say 4m, then the switch-fuse could be just 1m from the CU? I suspect that some may find that arrangement a little odd!

There has to be a limit at some point, what if it was say 10m, the same argument could be made if the CU was at 11m.

3m it is as a condition of supply
 
Joined
28 Jan 2011
Messages
50,511
Reaction score
3,412
Location
Buckinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
There has to be a limit at some point, what if it was say 10m, the same argument could be made if the CU was at 11m.
Indeed so, and the marginal cases are always going to look a little 'silly'. That was really the reason for my initial question - it might make more sense (certainly would avoid potentially 'silly' cases) if the 'rules' said that if the run from meter to CU is greater than 3m, then the 'entire' cable run has to be protected by a switch-fuse close to the origin of those cables (i.e. close to the meter).

Kind Regards, John
 
Joined
3 Jan 2011
Messages
2,497
Reaction score
314
Location
Cumberland
Country
United Kingdom
I know what you mean, but fair to say, going back into ancient history when I was doing this work I never came across that issue as you describe.
A position was usually found close to the meter for the sw/fuse
 
Joined
28 Jan 2011
Messages
50,511
Reaction score
3,412
Location
Buckinghamshire
Country
United Kingdom
I know what you mean, but fair to say, going back into ancient history when I was doing this work I never came across that issue as you describe. A position was usually found close to the meter for the sw/fuse
Indeed - and, in my very limited experience, that's all I've ever seen. I suppose that's why I was suggesting that the rules might as well require that (for runs >3m) the switch-fuse should always be 'as close as practicable' to the meter.

Kind Regards, John
 

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

 
Sponsored Links
Top