Retro-fit Cavity Wall Insulation

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'd be grateful for some advice on this issue.

Detached house was built 1996-7 under a version of the Building Regs that permitted use of thermal block for the inner skin rather than cavity wall insulation. As a result we have been seized on by the retro-fit industry for free retro insulation under the current Government/utility co scheme.

The insulation proposed is the glued polystyrene bead and neighbours have already had this done, without problems so far. I am aware from this forum and other sources that the "glued bead" method is more satisfactory than "loose bead" or "fibrefill". I was brought up to believe that the cavity is there for a purpose (I am a civil engineer rather than a builder) but I am not in an exposed location (urban Surrey) so am not too worried about rain penetration (or should I be?)

These houses are on a former industrial site with possibility of pockets of landfill gas; for this reason they have suspended precast concrete floors with underfloor ventilation via brick-sized grilles just below dpc. Can anyone advise me of the typical detail here: is there any possibility that the cwi could end up blocking the underfloor ventilation? Is the cavity normally concrete filled up to dpc?

Also I have seen on this forum a calculation of the change in U-value resulting from cavity wall insulation on a brick/cavity/thermal block wall. The improvement was small and brought the U-value up to not much more than the equivalent of a traditional cavity wall WITH cwi.

So all in all, I have lived in this house for nearly 20 years and am wondering if it actually worth it? Any views?

Sponsored Links
Where there needs to be protection from land gases, there is normally a membrane across the bottom of the cavity to separate it from the under floor void. Similar concept to a cavity tray. The installers will assess this.