Rewiring in the kitchen

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello

Newbie here so I apologise in advance if the answer to this is simple....
We're planning to rewire our house and I am at the (early) stage of drawing up each individual circuits. My query is with the kitchen sockets circuit - I have seen examples of where this is placed under the RCD section of the CU. Should a fault occur and the electricity is switched off, this would leave you without power to the fidge freezer. Should this circuit be placed under the non-RCD part of the CU?

Thanks for your help.

Sponsored Links
If you have capacity, put a socket on its own 20A radial on the non-rcd side of the CU, for the fridge freezer. Or spur from an adequate non-protected circuit (upstairs ring main?)

In terms of what circuits to have, the items on the list below may not all apply to you, but they are worth looking at to get you thinking:

1. Upstairs sockets
  2. Downstairs sockets
  3. Kitchen sockets
  4. Circuit for appliances
  5. Cooker circuit
  6. Non-RCD circuit for F/F
  7. Non-RCD circuit for CH boiler
  8. Dedicated circuit for hifi
  9. Dedicated circuit for IT equipment
  10. Upstairs lights
  11. Downstairs lights
  12. Loft lights
  13. Immersion heater
  14. Shower
  15. Alarm
  16. Supply for outside lights
  17. Supply for garden electrics
  18. Supply for shed/garage
Plus any peculiarities brought about by your house layout & construction - e.g. in mine because of solid floors and where the rest of the sockets are, I have a radial just for one socket in the hall, the doorbell and the porch lights.

Plus a few spares on RCD & non-RCD sides for expansion beyond that for future unforeseen needs.

.....and in an ideal world a loft light circuit.