RING doorbell pro and existing wiring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

I'm a newbie so hopefully posted in the correct place.

I bought a ring pro doorbell which I knew needed hard wiring. I thought it would be as easy to replace my old one with the new one. It isn't. As I've suggested I currently have a wired in doorbell, 8v transformer outside of my CU and a internal chime. All working.

As the install needed an electrician to go into the CU and I have no clue what I'm doing I consulted 2 electricians who charged me for their time but unfortunately all they've done is isolated my old doorbell.. Me £100 down. I'm beginning to think this doorbell is just a money pit and I'm soon going to give up with it so I'm hoping someone here can help.

In short, I need the transformer swapped for a 24v one which is supplied and a pro power kit installed into my internal chime. Then the new doorbell fitted where the old one was. Stupid of me to assume it would be that easy.

The first electrician came to do the job and said he was unwilling to sign it off due to the old transformer being outside the consumer unit and to connect it, telephone wire was used? He explained this does not meet regulations and although he could do it, it could be dangerous so he will not sign it off. I've looked online and it seems that telephone line is perfectly fine to use? And its working with the old doorbell, does it make a difference tho when the voltage of the transformer has changed? He said my only option is to completely rewire the doorbell which would mean wires on show to the front door which I don't really want.