Roof tiles too short. rain dripping down back of gutter

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi
I'm a newbie here. This site looks great.

My problem is that I had some new PVC Guttering & PVC Fascia board fitted about three years ago. In places, the roof tiles barely reach over the guttering.
We did fit a strip of damp proof to help direct the water, but this has long since blown off & now we're getting a damp patch about 4ft wide down the exterior wall.
It has been suggested that the bottom row of tiles can be pulled further forward over the gutter & siliconed to the other tiles, or some more damp proof strip fitted more securely

Would this be a satisfactory solution :?:

Thanks in advance for your help :D

Sponsored Links
Thanks for that quick reply alastairreid.
Which one of those would you recommend for my situation :?:

i would go for the 600mm fascia trays.

push up the bottom course of tiles, fit the bottom edge of the tray over the top of your upvc fascia boards, the lip should project into your gutters, and the tray runs up the roof.
overlap the trays as you go approx 75mm, and tack down onto rafters at the top of the trays.
then pull your tiles back down into position.

the installers of your new facings and gutters should have picked up on this anyway.
:(

good luck.

Sponsored Links
A friend & I installed them so ignorance played a part here.
I guess that's why we used the Damp Course membrane, but there's nowhere to attach that.

Should I just be able to push up my 1st course of tiles without removing any nails :?:

Should I just be able to push up my 1st course of tiles without removing any nails :?:

Not if the roof tiles have been laid correctly you shouldn't. You may have to push up the second or even third course and de nail the bottom courses.