router jigs

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm replacing a load of doors and was thinking of getting a hinge jig. Looking at the websites the recommendation is a min 1600w router. I have an old b&d router which is nowhere near 1600w so had a look at a new router. Bearing in mind I only want this for occasional use, the prices seem uneconomical as decent makes are around the £200 mark. I have seen a bosch green router, rated at 1400w, which is around the £70 mark. Given the limited use, would this be okay to use with a jig.

One other use would be to use to fit a couple of mortice locks. I'm happy to leave this if 1400w would be under-powered and stick to drill and chisel.

Any advice would be gratefully received.

Sponsored Links
Hinges themselves don't sit very deep, so you could use a small 1/4 router if need be. Locks and mortices defo need a beast, so yeh, chisel away.

I've never used a hinge jig before. A combination of chisel and router works fine for me. as for routers there are plenty of really good second hand ones about.

Sponsored Links
Thanks for the replies.

I have bought a small Trend hinge Jig and had a go with my trusty B&D router. This worked a treat. It looks like the 'recommended 1600w router' is in place for all of these jigs, but only the lock and worktop jigs really need that power.

I'll look at a more powerful router, when I use it enough to justify the outlay. Just saw a Dewalt DW624 go on ebay for £120. I could stretch to that, over the 1400w bosch.

Cheers

Paul

I made my own jigs out 9mm mdf, that way I can use the guideboshes and cutters I already have, I even made one to mortice tubular latches and the face plates. A couple of hours with some bits of scrap saved several hours hanging doors.
IMHO bought jigs can be very over priced.

DIYnot Local

Staff member

If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.