RSJ and Padstone Placement

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys

Can someone please check the attached plans?

We are looking at having a load bearing internal ground floor wall removed and replaced by a steel.

My concern is with the padstone placement. The wall running vertically in the left of the picture with the french doors opening into the playroom is a plasterboard studwall and so only a very small amount of the lefthand padstone is actually sat on what will remain of the block wall that runs horizontally in the picture. Also the padstones are off centre with eachother.

Should I be concerned?

Attachments

• 20170701_092236.jpg
    20170701_092236.jpg
    43.9 KB · Views: 754
Last edited:
Sponsored Links
I'm no expert, but it looks wrong to me. Having recently lifted a fair few large padstones I would not want one resting on a stud wall...granted some of it is on a block wall but most isn't. Surely the padstone just needs turning 90 degrees to run along to block wall? Maybe it's an error in the drawing - best talk to the builder.

It depends on what the loading is, and what type of brick/blockwork is in the wall running horizontally.
If the load is not great, it could be that the 100 x 100 bearing on the masonry wall is ok, and the rest of the padstone would just be redundant.
If it is a true timber stud wall (and not one of those ghastly egg-crate partitions) that (believe it or not) will also provide some (albeit limited) support.

Thanks both.

These are the plans from the SE but it doesnt seem right to me (based only on instinct).

Yes its a genuine studwork wall. What other measurements are required to calculate this properly?

Sponsored Links
These are the plans from the SE but it doesnt seem right to me

Has your SE supplied any more information ?,they usually supply the calculation. So far you have just shown us a drawing of the proposed alteration,any more info ?

See attached.