RSJ sizes

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, i am a newbie on here,

i need to Calculate the sizes of 2 rsj's needed to support a opening for a doorway and removal of a load bearing wall. i have tried using the software supabeam but the steel suppliers has said that the sizes are old and not made anymore. i have been quoted £500 to do the calcs.

any advise/help?.

Sponsored Links
hey mark,
i'm no expert but in my experience an 8 inch rsj is used for load bearing walls, doorways and windows on non load bearing not as stringent. In general youve got to allow 150mm on either side of it so just add 300 to your opening. The bigger the opening the more you should give the rsj. Hope this helps.
curadh

markvirgo said:
Hi, i am a newbie on here,

i need to Calculate the sizes of 2 rsj's needed to support a opening for a doorway and removal of a load bearing wall. i have tried using the software supabeam but the steel suppliers has said that the sizes are old and not made anymore. i have been quoted £500 to do the calcs.

any advise/help?.

What sizes have you worked out? i can give you the size/weight equivalent.

Im imagining maybe a 203x203x52??
or 8x8

hi, thanks for the replies.

203/152/52 and 152/127/37 grade 43. are the supabeam sizes.

Sponsored Links
Yes, 203 x 152 is no longer available, the nearest (upwards) would be a 203x203x52 UC, and the 152x127 would be a 152x152x37 UC
Althought theses are the samee mass as the old sizes, the web and flanges may be slightly thinner due to the size increase.
For the 203x203, a slightly larger mass is available. 60kg/m, but for the 152x152, 37 is the maximum mass available.
They are the new eqivalent sizes, im not saying put those in your house, but if your happy with your calcs and the slight increase in sizes do what you will.I cant remember of the top of my head which grade has superseeded 43, i think its S275, but your supplier should help there.