1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

Running a spur for wall lighting off of ring mains.

Discussion in 'Electrics UK' started by charliesaunders1, 14 Jan 2014.

  1. charliesaunders1

    charliesaunders1

    Joined:
    9 Sep 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    HI, I need to run a spur from a two gang socket to accommodate wall lighting. Could you please tell me exactly how this is done. The spur will run directly into a switched fused connection. Also how many wall lights may I be able to use and am I right in saying that the spur is run in 2.5mm T&E mains cable and lighting from the socket in 1.5mm T&E cable. Thanks, Charlie.
     
  2. winston1

    winston1

    Joined:
    11 Jan 2010
    Messages:
    5,667
    Thanks Received:
    415
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The lighting cable does not need to be 1.5mm, 1.0mm is OK and easier and cheaper.
     
  3. charliesaunders1

    charliesaunders1

    Joined:
    9 Sep 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok thanks, what amp switch is recommended?
     
  4. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,628
    Thanks Received:
    2,381
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A little difficult inform you exactly how it should be done, but will offer some pointers.
    You will require to route cable in the permitted safe zones, it is very likely that any buried cable unless mechanically protected will require 30mA RCD protection if not already existing circuit. Ideally once installed the circuit should be commissioned via a electrical installation or a minor works certificate.
    Looking in Wiki may give you some valuable information!
    That is fine
    The number of wall lights would depend on the fuse placed within the FCU, the simple calculation would be say you fitted a 5A fuse and each lamp was rated at 40 watts you could have 28 lamps.

    You could run 2.5mm2 T&E or 1.5mm2 T&E between the socket and FCU, then from there either 1.5mm2 T&E or 1.00mm2 T&E
     
  5. PrenticeBoyofDerry

    PrenticeBoyofDerry

    Joined:
    30 Jun 2009
    Messages:
    21,628
    Thanks Received:
    2,381
    Location:
    Londonderry
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That would depend on the load demanded, you would only require a 1A fuse for a load less than 230 watts. Anything above that an extra amp for ever 230 watts.
     
  6. charliesaunders1

    charliesaunders1

    Joined:
    9 Sep 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    All sorted now, thanks. Charlie
     
  7. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
  8. Sponsored Links
Loading...

Share This Page