Running

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Anyone else into running at all? I started writing a short history of how I began running but frankly it turned into a bog and I got bored so will stick with the short version, I've been running for about 5 years and now I run on the road about 3 times a week about 5-6m each run, my pace is sloooooooow! I find it quite therapeutic, allows me to completely detach from anything and obviously keeps me fit & helps stave off the weight - but I do need music to run to.

I've done plenty of Half Marathons over the years though not since early 2019 and am now doing one tomorrow which is a trail event on Dartmoor which is gonna be hell, I've probably not really done quite as much distance as I'd have liked as I only saw it advertised by accident about 10 days ago but coincidentally I had already started to do some longer distances and at least the weather is looking OK.

So if you run or would like to why do you do it, is it a chore or do you love it, trail or road what's your poison? In a club or solo? Ever done an Ultra or something equally stupid? I have a single Full Marathon in me, not sure when but one day!

Sponsored Links
I like to be outside so I run. I don't always look forward to running and it's an effort to get out, but love it when I'm out if the weather is good, I feel good afterwards and it keeps me fit. I'm 56 now and have managed to maintain my 30" waist and visible abs, albeit a bit flabby around the edges now though. I don't use music, personally I don't think it's safe and I want to run to my potential and not to a beat. I also like to hear the sounds of nature where I run. That might be different though if I was running in traffic and city noise.

Same as you with regard to the Half Marathon's. Entering them keeps me motivated. Not sure I have the time to train for a full marathon, I'm done in after a half. The last one was February before lockdown. Normally 2 or 3 10K's too during the summer.