Salamander V Stuart Turner shower pump

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Having fitted a "Watermill PR50D" positive head shower pump 18 months ago it had an epic FAIL spraying enough water from one of the end screws holding it together to find its way into my freshly decorated kitchen below.
Eventually speaking to a guy from Grundfos (who appear to have taken Watermill over) I am told that the fail was due to the pump being situated too far (approx 9 metres) from the airing cupboard (even though the cold water tank is in the loft directly above the airing cupboard) & the pump sits on the floorboards level with the bottom of the hot water cylinder. The (Bristan Qube, thermostatically controlled) shower head is fixed approx 2 metres from the floor.
Being a mere layman I expected a positive head pump would be suitable for this application but am informed that I require a heavy duty negative head pump for this situation.
I would like to to ask:
1. is this correct ?
2. assuming it is correct, which (if any) of the following pumps would you recommend please : a Salamander Force 1.5 Bar Brass Twin End Positive and Negative Head Universal Shower Pump or a Stuart Turner Monsoon Negative 1.5 Bar Twin Shower Pump

Sponsored Links
Shower pump impellers are designed to push water; they are not very good at pulling it. Pump manufactures mostly stipulate fitting the pump next the HW cylinder & some quote a maximum length of gravity pipe work; Salamander for instance quote a maximum gravity pre pump pipe length of 4m for 22mm & just 2m for 15mm. Moving the pump away from the gravity water supply reduces supply velocity to the pump, restricts flow, overloads the pump & can cause cavitation which will destroy the impellers/casing eventually, sometimes in a very short time.