Savers retaliate! Are you listening Brown

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
The recent drop in interest rates means that many savers who rely on the interest on their savings to maintain their standard of living will lose out.
Why should they lose out when others in society will gain considerably at their expense.
It is the savers money which keeps the banks in business.
No doubt the government have considered this aspect but are not to bothered about the consequences of this action.
I have no idea what the numbers are except that they are in the millions, but what would happen if the majority of these savers withdrew all their savings from the various banks and building societies, and literally stuffed the money under their mattresses.
As a result of this the various schemes devised to save those who have squandered their money would at the very least flounder.
I am no expert on these matters but the consequences of this would surely cause the government to rethink and make some amendment.
Come on you lot you have nothing to lose, you might as well blow all your savings, then when that is gone you will qualify for all the other various benefits.
What sort of message is this government sending out to the potential savers of tomorrow.

Sponsored Links
Withdraw it then and stop moaning. Anyone who can live or 'maintain their standard of living' because of interest paid to them has too much in the first place.

There's alot more people out there struggling with bills and paying the mortage and this cut might make the difference.

And FWIW i have some savings and would rather it sat in a bank earning nothing than it stuffed in my mattress.

I have ans ISA. Earning nothing, ...... I can only dream of that!

Sponsored Links
i think the government have really screwed the hard working, honest people here. the ones who have saved and been cautious have been made to look foolish.