1. Visiting from the US? Why not try DIYnot.US instead? Click here to continue to DIYnot.US.
    Dismiss Notice

scantronic i-on160ex + isd02 - line fail

Discussion in 'Alarms, CCTV & Telephones' started by unclebob1, 15 Feb 2019.

  1. unclebob1

    unclebob1

    Joined:
    16 Aug 2012
    Messages:
    565
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Good morning,

    I've setup an i-on160ex with the speak dialer, isd02.

    The dialer doesn't seem to be able to see the telephone line - though the connections are made to the master socket (Socket was just installed last week if it makes any difference and is 5c marked by bt).

    Tests so far:
    on the master socket, plugged in a telephone - that's working.
    removed the alarm telephone wire from both ends, twisted one side together and checked continuity, all fine.

    Made connections on both master socket and sd02 again, but alarm still says line failure.
    swapped wires over just in case - still says line failure.

    the SD02 has no phone socket on it any more, so i cant plug in a phone and check if there is a dial tone.

    Any ideas?


    Also bt socket has 2,3, and 5 i think, while dialer as a/b.
    Which wires should go where (not colors but number to letter).


    and lastly, is there a way to initiate a test call from the panel? I cant see anything on software to allow test dial which i find unusual!
     
  2. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    6,856
    Thanks Received:
    1,065
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    2 and 5 from by socket to a and b
    Check for around 50v dc at a and b on speech dialer
     
  3. unclebob1

    unclebob1

    Joined:
    16 Aug 2012
    Messages:
    565
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks Sparky - is that 2 = a and 5 = b?
     
  4. sparkymarka

    sparkymarka

    Joined:
    16 Feb 2011
    Messages:
    6,856
    Thanks Received:
    1,065
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Doesn't matter either way will work
     
  5. unclebob1

    unclebob1

    Joined:
    16 Aug 2012
    Messages:
    565
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just to update, looks like the master socket's extension isnt working - Checked for 50v at the alarm side, nothing, so checked at the master socket side, nothing. I look the wire off an old telephone plugged in and that gave me 50v.

    This is a new master socket (NTE5C) installed by bt just prior to alarm installation...
    Looks like just the extension part isnt working.
     
  6. DIYnot Local

    DIYnot Local

    Joined:
    3 Sep 2019
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    If you need to find a tradesperson to get your job done, please try our local search below, or if you are doing it yourself you can find suppliers local to you.

    Select the supplier or trade you require, enter your location to begin your search.


    Are you a trade or supplier? You can create your listing free at DIYnot Local

     
Loading...

Share This Page