Screwing in Shelving

B

BobTodd

I've bought some new shelves for the kitchen. The wall where I want them to go is plasterboard and air for 30mm, then it hits brick or breeze block (not sure which - its a new build terraced town house made of brick, but the garage has breeze block).

The shelves need to take some weight as it'll be for kitchen equipment and books so i don't think the 15kg max-load plasterboard fixings will do.

I'm dreading having to try and get 60mm masonry screws in as I'm a complete novice, but I think these are required. Will the air/plasterboard get in the way of this option? How would you drill it (i don't think my bosch light-weight drill will cut it). What would you do?

We're talking 48 screws to get the 4 shelves up. These are the type of shelves (floating)

Cheers.

Sponsored Links
It sound's like your plasterboard walls are a dot'n'dab, this means they are stuck to the the wall using a board adhesive.
Fitting light duty shelves would normally not be a problem, but considering your use. I would be tempted to cut out an area of board, securely fit some timber battens behind the plasterboard (where the shelves will be) repair. Then use them as secure fixing points.
I know it may be a bit more work than you intended to do, but with the gap between board and wall, just drilling straight through and fitting raw-plugs may not have the desired strength.

You need a SDS drill to drill in to the brick/block work and decent drill bits.