Putting up shelves with only small gap behing plasterboard

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi everyone, I hope you can help.

I'm a novice DIY-er and I'm trying to put an Ikea shelving unit up on a plasterboard wall. I bought the type of metal wall fixings that bend out behind the plasterboard as you tighten the screw. However, after drilling the holes I found that the gap behind the plasterboard is only about 10mm before concrete/breeze block/brick (not sure which - it's the ajoining wall to the apartment next door). This gap is not deep enough to fit the fixings I bought.

What advice do you have for hanging the shelf unit? What fixings/plugs should I use? Is it possible to drill into the brick and would that make for a stronger hold for the shelves?

Any help would be great.
Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Fixing into brickwork is going to be far stronger than into plasterboard. Drill the hole through the board and into the wall, then squirt some no nails into it and push a rawlpug into place, and leave overnight for the glue to set.

You want to make sure that you use enough glue so that when it sets it will pack out the gap between the brickwork and the plaster so that when you tighten the screw it doesn't bend the plasteeboard backwards and create a crack.

Great! Thanks for your reply.

Just so that I am clear, is it just a regular plastic rawl plug that you reccomend?

Any idea on what weight that would support?

Thanks

I would also defenitely drill into the brick/breezeblock. You are not going to be able to get anything to fix well into 10mm of plasterboard, at least not anything you can put much/if any weight on and it will fall down.