Scribing/Cutting Wall Panels

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys,

Currently in the midst of a shower room renovation in a loft conversion. I'm a software engineer by trade but mucking in on some of the DIY jobs. We are fitting the Bathroom panels at the moment and because it's a loft room they have curved out the ceiling.

I was wondering what the accepted/best way would be to get the curve cut on the actual wall panel. As per the image below:
Web capture_19-1-2024_13814_photos.google.com.jpeg

Doing straight walls has been fine, but the 900mm boards just come over into the curve annoyingly.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Equally the end board has that lovely angle on, am I best of just using an Angle Measure for that?

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links
You can use a fine toothed saw and a stanley blade.
Measure carefully and score a line on the back of the panel to be cut.
Make sure you have a fresh blade and no distractions.
When you have a good line to guide the saw, continue cutting up to the edge, then finish off with the stanley.

I keep an angle bevel for awkward corners like that. Good luck.(y)

If your panels are corrugated PVC then you can also use a fine toothed jigsaw blade (metal cutting). Just let it cut in it's own time, don't rush it.

I used two different panels from the same manufacturer strangely one of the panels was prone to chipping more than the other.

Sorry guys, I meant how would I measure out the shape of the curve on the board...is there a best way to do that?

I've already cut a couple of boards down as did downstairs bathroom but thinking more about the shape at the top.

Sponsored Links
Sorry guys, I meant how would I measure out the shape of the curve on the board...is there a best way to do that?

I've already cut a couple of boards down as did downstairs bathroom but thinking more about the shape at the top.